Canada Launches New National Occupations Classification

The Canadian government has made changes to the way professions and jobs are defined in the country. These changes are reflected in the new National Occupation Classification (NOC) 2011.

The NOC 2011 is in a way an amalgamation of the traditional NOC, defined by Human Resources and Skills Development Canada – a federal ministry in charge of human resources development—and the National Occupation Classification for Statistics (NOC-S) maintained by Statistics Canada.

The new NOC has compiled nearly 40,000 jobs, and will be, as in the case of previous NOCs, widely used by the Canadian labour market.

The 10 Categories of NOC 2011

The NOC 2011 divides the jobs into ten broad categories:

  • Management Occupations
  • Business, Finance and Administration Occupations
  • Natural and Applied Sciences and Related Occupations
  • Health Occupations
  • Education, Law and Social, Community and Government Services Occupations
  • Art, Culture and Recreational and Sport Occupations
  • Sales and Service Occupations
  • Trades, Transport and Equipment Operators and Related Occupations
  • Natural Resources, Agriculture and related Production Occupations
  • Occupations in Manufacturing and Utilities


Within these broad groups, there are sub-groups of professions.

The list also provides the general educational qualifications that might be needed for the jobs.

The full list and the background info can be obtained from the HRSDC site on the NOC 2011.





Enhanced by Zemanta

Speak Your Mind


Add to Technorati Favorites